Zen Day 28: The Rebel

People are afraid, very much afraid of those who know themselves. They have a certain power, a certain aura and a certain magnetism, a charisma that can take out alive, young people from the traditional imprisonment…. 

The enlightened man cannot be enslaved – that is the difficulty – and he cannot be imprisoned…. Every genius who has known something of the inner is bound to be a little difficult to be absorbed; he is going to be an upsetting force. The masses don’t want to be disturbed, even though they may be in misery; they are in misery, but they are accustomed to the misery. And anybody who is not miserable looks like a stranger.

The enlightened man is the greatest stranger in the world; he does not seem to belong to anybody. No organization confines him, no community, no society, no nation.

Osho The Zen Manifesto: Freedom from Oneself Chapter 9

The powerful and authoritative figure in this card is clearly the master of his own destiny. On his shoulder is an emblem of the sun, and the torch he holds in his right hand symbolizes the light of his own hard-won truth. 

Whether he is wealthy or poor, the Rebel is really an emperor because he has broken the chains of society’s repressive conditioning and opinions. He has formed himself by embracing all the colors of the rainbow, emerging from the dark and formless roots of his unconscious past and growing wings to fly into the sky. His very way of being is rebellious – not because he is fighting against anybody or anything, but because he has discovered his own true nature and is determined to live in accordance with it. The eagle is his spirit animal, a messenger between earth and sky. 

The Rebel challenges us to be courageous enough to take responsibility for who we are and to live our truth.

****

When I first looked at the card I pulled today, my gut response was a verbal, “uh-oh.”  I connected rebellion with more struggle, which I’ve been having my share of this morning (mostly attributable to hormones and regular old household issues).  But, upon reading the card’s commentary, it actually occurred to me that The Rebel is validating those exact mundane struggles!

Now, that last sentence sounds off, I know, but hear me out for just a sec:

1. my hormonal struggle, while completely ridiculous, is entirely understandable and valid, especially when the larger picture is taken into account (i.e., these two tiny blobs floating in my belly) – this is my choice to proceed with this course of action because it is right for my life; as such, I need to own these changes in my body and surrender to them instead of fight the ebbs and flows of emotions.

2. my struggle with BD right now is an on-going one revolving around work and finances.  I don’t need to get too much into the nitty-gritty of it, but sufficed to say that, as hard as BD tries, he hasn’t had the best luck in work in the past year and it has taken its toll.  Thus, money is a constant issue and the #1 source of contention between us.  It reared its ugly head again this morning.  The Rebel reminds me that, like my choice to start a family, I have chosen to not have a conventional life with a conventional partner – I willfully chose to live a different lifestyle than the “normal” one prescribed by lifestyle media and corporations.  As such, I need to own the unconventional methods through which we find our own brand of normalcy – because that is our truth.

****

Recap of Day 27: Not bad at all, if a little dull!  Ok, to be honest, this whole doing-nothing thing is driving both of us NUTS.  I got chewed out for taking the garbage bag out of the kitchen trashcan last night because I’m not supposed to lift anything (but, in my defense, the dog had gotten into the trash no less than 3 times, which meant I kept getting up to get him out said trash; I was simply weighing the lesser of the two evils – either continue to get up (which I’m only supposed to do every 2 hours) or just take care of the freaking problem!).  I loveloveLOVE BD, but a tidy person he is not.  When left to his own devices, dishes do not find their way to the dishwasher, clothes do not find a hamper, newspaper gets left everywhere, our old incontinent dog’s pee sits on the floor (this one has been my sole rebellion – I let it go for the first afternoon, but had to start cleaning after that).  I’m not claiming to be Susie Homemaker (which I’m most certainly not), but the house resembles less of a barn stall and more of a place of human habitation when I’m able-bodied.

The funny one to me was BD’s remark last night (when I mentioned the dog pee issue): “Just tell me what to do and I’ll do it!  You know I’ll bitch and moan, but I’ll do it!”  Now, why in the hell do I want to put up with more bitching and moaning?  HA!

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

