Zen Day 25: Integration

It seems like a lifetime has passed between Day 10, when I first pulled this card, and today.  What a perfect foil to today: Day 10 was, in fact, the nadir of this entire experience, the day that I really hit rock bottom, whereas today, I have emerged on the other side and am now a day away from the embryo transfer.

I suppose that dichotomy – between the Me of anxiety, depression, and physical struggle, and the Me of elation and peace – is as good an embodiment of Integration as any.  Both sides of me belong to me equally.  I can no more escape my more embarrassing and depressing manifestations than I can hold on to the high points of happiness.  There is a core of my being that has driven me through this process and will continue to guide me.  Like a compass, I need to remember that core when I find myself on either end of the emotional spectrum; I am still the Me who feels low, I am still the Me that feels joy, I am still the Me that moves forward.

Here’s to the last day of the never-been-knocked-up Me.

I am thankful that all things are working in divine order for the highest good of all beings concerned.

****

Recap of Day 24: A good, if long, day.  I went to the acupuncturist in the late afternoon for the first of two sessions surrounding the transfer; for the first time, I felt immediate relief from the near-constant heartburn.  She seems pretty confident that this will go well.

I got home to BD in a near conniption fit over the front porch; this has become his white whale in the wake of a baby.  The porch is in dire need of attention and it has grasped a tight grip on him.  So, I’m attempting to deal with this arduous, lengthy, and costly situation as calmly as possible; I refuse to let it ruffle me.  One of the 10 million concerns that BD has is the fact that we live in a historic district that can be rather Draconian in the oversight of its policies; however, I think that I was able to make major headway this morning when I found that you aren’t required to go through all of the rigor morale for replacement of damaged exteriors – that is a HUZZAH times a hundred in my book!  That simple fact will save us, oh, 2 months and a couple of hundred dollars in architectural drawings and committee hearings.

The weirdest one was waking up at 3am to take out the old dog and seeing that I had a text message from an acquaintance asking if I’d be interested in pursuing a team job with him to run a local arts organization.  Now, there are several reasons why this is weird, but I’ll just choose one to extrapolate on for a sec: I have waited years (literally) for a job in my field to pop up locally and then, the day before I get pregnant, that very job opportunity (however tenuous it may be) comes?  I’m not really sure what to make of that on any level.  In fact, it downright confuses me.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

