Day 12: We are the World

When thousands and thousands of people around the earth are celebrating, singing, dancing, ecstatic, drunk with the divine, there is no possibility of any global suicide. With such festivity and with such laughter, with such sanity and health, with such naturalness and spontaneity, how can there be a war?… Life has been given to you to create, and to rejoice, and to celebrate. When you cry and weep, when you are miserable, you are alone. When you celebrate, the whole existence participates with you. Only in celebration do we meet the ultimate, the eternal. Only in celebration do we go beyond the circle of birth and death.

Osho I Celebrate Myself Chapter 4

Humanity is depicted here as a rainbow of beings, dancing around the mandala of the earth with their hands joined together in joy and gratitude for the gift of life. This card represents a time of communication, of sharing the riches that each of us brings to the whole. There is no clinging here, no grasping. It is a circle without fear of feelings of inferiority and superiority. When we recognize the common source of our humanity, the common origins of our dreams and longings, our hopes and fears, we are able to see that we are all joined together in the great miracle of existence. When we can combine our tremendous inner wealth to create a treasure of love and wisdom that is available to all, we are linked together in the exquisite pattern of eternal creation.

****

Well, there’s a humdinger fer ya.  How does the saying go…you’ve got to laugh to keep from crying?  Much like my ongoing motto, this card reminds me to celebrate, honor, and thank the universe for all the things that are – instead of mourn and mope about all of the things that are not.  May I – may we all – maintain the grace, humility and consciousness to be thankful for every blessing and to let go of everything else.

When I turned on my car this morning, the perfect song for such a day started blaring through my speakers: Wild Flag’s “Romance.”  How can you not be totally joyfully giddy and listen to this song?  Seriously.

****

Eating through this whole process has been a welcome distraction.  I take to heart those opinions (starting, but certainly not ending with Annie Murphy Paul’s book, Origins) that the nutrients you supply your body with will have a direct impact on the other person living in your belly, so I’ve made a concerted effort to eliminate conventional produce, dairy, and meats; goods containing BPA; and processed and fried foods.  While I haven’t been perfect, I am pleased with the changes I’ve made and can feel a real difference (even if I can’t see a difference).

So, on that note, I had my weekly romp through Whole Foods the other day and so have been as happy as a pig in mud with all of my fresh produce.  I have mastered the fine art of shopping at Whole Foods – I am able to shop for BD and me for a whole week and spend an average of $86.  I seriously deserve a badge or something.

Last night I dug into the food goody sack and made a SUPER easy and fantastic dinner that is definitely going on repeat: pan-fried rainbow trout with lemon and capers, coconut oil-roasted fingerling potatoes, and arugula salad with grapefruit, avocado, and balsamic.  The potatoes were the only time-waster, but once those little suckers were in the oven, I just had to pull together the salad and, when ready to serve, saute the fish and make the pan sauce.  I looked like a superstar and didn’t do diddlysquat, so I’d say that’s a keeper of a meal.  Now, take in mind that I was cooking for two not-super-big eaters, so adjust measurements accordingly…

Rainbow Trout with Lemon, Capers and Brown Butter (from Emeril)

  • I adjusted my recipe to fit what I had in the kitchen, so used only 2 fillets, omitted the parsley, and added a bunch of minced garlic and rosemary.  FYI…Garlic = love.

Coconut Oil-Roasted Fingerlings

  • heat 2 tbs. coconut oil to achieve liquid form and pour into a bowl with a 1/4 lb. potatoes.  Toss with salt and pepper and lay on a baking sheet.  Roast at 350 degrees for about an hour, turning them a few times to cook evenly.

Arugula with Grapefruit, Avocado, and Balsamic

  • cut 1/4 of a large grapefruit into bite-sized pieces and make sure to reserve any juices that escape.  Pour all that juice and cut sections into a bowl and mix with 1 tbs. balsamic vinegar, a splash of olive oil, salt, and pepper.  Slice 1/4 avocado and lay on top of grapfruit; trim arugula , lay on top of fruit, and cover with damp towel to keep crisp until ready to serve.  Toss and voila!  If you’re super-fancy, shave some fresh parmesan onto that bad boy at the end…

****

Recap of Day 11: What an excellent day, especially compared to Day 10.  Even the Follistim/Menopur shot was easier.  I even slept through the night again (I think the secret is the two melatonin), although I did wake up at, like, 5:15 a.m.  Oh well.  I’m pretty okay with that.  Today I’m feeling a little funky…like, the beginnings of allergies or sickness or something of that ilk, which I am desperately afraid of, seeing as it could derail the cycle.  Fingers crossed it’s nothing.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

