Update on the Great Liver Trial of 2012

Good news: I survived!  And it was pretty tasty!

Bad news: I learned that when the directions say, “pat the livers dry” they mean PAT THE LIVERS DRY (unless you want scalding oil to spurt up sporadically and repeatedly at your eyeballs).  Also, I learned that I don’t have the slightest idea what “cleaning” the livers means beyond washing them.  This is literally the first time in my adult life that Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything has failed me – he has absolutely nothing on cleaning or preparing chicken livers.

I based my inaugural liver-cooking extravaganza on the recipe from Lidia’s Italy, only I cut out all of the butter (in keeping with my new TCM dietary restrictions) and used only a fraction of the olive oil, making the dish much lighter.

Chicken Livers and Onions

Makes one big serving or two smaller servings

  • 1/2 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 2 T. raisins (I used regular raisins because it’s what I had), plumped from sitting in a bowl of warm water for a few minutes
  • 2 T. red wine vinegar
  • 2 bay leaves
  • olive oil
  • 1/3 – 1/2 lb. chicken livers (cleaned? PATTED TOTALLY DRY)
  • salt
  • pepper
Heat a skillet on low-medium and lay out onions in a single layer.  Cover skillet with lid and let sit.  Every 5 minutes, stir.  Onions will wilt and begin to brown.  At that point, add raisins, vinegar, bay leaves, olive oil, salt, and pepper; let the vinegar steam off for a minute before replacing lid on skillet and let continue to cook until done cooking livers.
Heat a second skillet with 3-4 T. of olive oil on medium.  Salt and pepper the cleaned livers.  When hot, place livers in skillet (you may have to work in several batches depending on how big your skillet is).  Don’t touch – just let cook for 2 – 3 minutes before flipping to allow a crust to form.  Once you flip, let cook for another 2 minutes, then remove to a plate covered in paper towels to soak excess oil (I even patted mine to remove some).
Add livers to the onion mixture and give a good stir before plating.
Voila!  Liver-opolis: population one.
Leave a Reply

